The French Red Cross Foundation is a research foundation dedicated to humanitarian and social action. An approved non-profit organisation (FRUP), it represents the will of the French Red Cross to promote scientific knowledge, ethical reflection and social innovation in order to improve action dedicated to the most vulnerable.

Our vision

At the heart of our engagement, lies a conviction: in order to alleviate suffering, it is necessary to understand the context in which it is expressed and, whilst collaborating as closely as possible with vulnerable populations, analyse the support they are provided with.
This is why we are supporting social science research on humanitarian and social action. We hope to encourage the production of thorough, field-based scientific knowledge, in France and internationally, by researchers from both developed and developing countries. By ensuring their independence and respecting the temporalities of research, we are allowing for the emergence of constructive criticism and reflection freed from the constraints of emergency situations.
The social and humanitarian research we support is intended to inform and assist operational practice. By building bridges between researchers, civil society, public institutions and private actors, we contribute to the improvement of existing action, capacity reinforcement, autonomy, and the emergence of innovative and sustainable models for action.

I am truly proud to chair the Foundation, which is intended to become a compass for humanitarian and social action, both across the world and in France, given the constant changes in society and the many crises. I know how essential the production of knowledge is, as I myself am an academic with a doctorate in educational sciences. Action and reflection are essential to each other. We cannot act without thinking, especially in the humanitarian field, as goodwill is not enough and sometimes does harm.

Philippe Da Costa

President of the French Red Cross and the Foundation

Our story

As a foundation of public utility (FRUP), officially recognised by decree on September 1st 2017, the French Red Cross Foundation was officially launched in January 2018. Its actions the continuation of  those of the Fondation pour le Lien Social and the French Red Cross Fund, which the Foundation has replaced.

Created in 2010, under the aegis of the Institut de France, the Fondation pour le Lien Social supported innovation in the fight against situations of vulnerability, exclusion and poverty, by promoting the social bond. It supported over 110 high social impact projects in France and stimulated reflection and debate amongst researchers by awarding 11 research prizes and organising 9 symposiums and conferences.

As for the French Red Cross Fund, it was launched in 2013 in order to promote research on international humanitarian action. By awarding thirty postdoctoral fellowships and eight research prizes, mainly to researchers from developing countries, it furthered the emergence of knowledge about humanitarian transitions in aid recipient countries, and the promotion of dialogue on ethics during international events.

By linking research on humanitarian and social action, and by affirming the continuity between local and international issues, the Red Cross Foundation represents a synthesis of two complementary approaches. With its creation, we are shaping the future whilst squarely placing ourselves within the heritage and principles of the International Movement of the Red Cross and Red Crescent.

La Fondation Croix-Rouge française est une fondation de recherche dédiée à l’action humanitaire et sociale. Reconnue d’utilité publique (FRUP), elle porte la volonté de la Croix-Rouge française de promouvoir la connaissance scientifique, la réflexion éthique et l’innovation sociale pour faire avancer l’action au service des plus vulnérables.

Notre vision

Au cœur de notre engagement, une conviction : pour soulager au mieux les souffrances, il est nécessaire de comprendre les contextes où elles s’expriment et de prendre le temps d’analyser, au plus près des populations vulnérables, les réponses qui leurs sont données.

C’est pourquoi nous soutenons la recherche en sciences sociales sur l’action humanitaire et sociale. Nous souhaitons ainsi favoriser la production de connaissances scientifiques solides issues des terrains, en France et à l’international, et produite par des chercheurs du Nord comme du Sud. En assurant leur indépendance et en respectant la temporalité de la recherche, nous nous donnons les moyens de faire émerger une critique constructive et une réflexion libérée des contraintes de l’urgence.

En cela, la recherche humanitaire et sociale que nous soutenons est mise au service de l’opérationnel. En créant des ponts entre chercheurs, sociétés civiles, institutions publiques et acteurs privés, nous contribuons à l’amélioration des actions existantes, au renforcement des capacités et de l’autonomie et à l’émergence de modèles d’action innovants et durables.

Avec cette Fondation, nous voulons placer la Croix-Rouge française aux avant-postes de l’innovation sociale et de la réflexion éthique. Une Croix-Rouge audacieuse qui assume ce qu’elle est et regarde vers l’avenir. En mobilisant la communauté scientifique au Nord comme au Sud, au plus près des populations en souffrance, la Fondation participe ainsi au débat mondial sur l’avenir de l’action humanitaire et sociale ; et, comme tous les acteurs du Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge, elle s’engage pour un monde plus humain et plus juste.

Professeur Jean-Jacques Eledjam

Président de la Croix-Rouge française et de la Fondation

Notre histoire

Reconnue d’utilité publique (FRUP) par décret le 1er septembre 2017, la Fondation Croix-Rouge française a été lancée officiellement en janvier 2018. Son action s’inscrit cependant dans la continuité de celles de la Fondation pour le Lien Social et du Fonds Croix-Rouge française, organisations auxquelles la Fondation s’est substituée.

Créée en 2010 sous l’égide de l’Institut de France, la Fondation pour le Lien Social a favorisé, par la promotion du lien social, l’innovation en matière de lutte contre les situations de vulnérabilité, d’exclusion et de pauvreté. Elle a ainsi soutenu plus de 110 projets à fort impact social en France, et a stimulé réflexions de chercheurs et débats par la remise de 11 prix de recherche et l’organisation de 9 colloques et rencontres.

Le Fonds Croix-Rouge a quant à lui été lancé en 2013 pour promouvoir la recherche sur l’action humanitaire internationale. En décernant une trentaine de bourses postdoctorales et 8 prix de recherches, majoritairement à des chercheurs du Sud, il a favorisé l’émergence de savoirs sur les transitions humanitaires dans les pays bénéficiaires de l’aide internationale, et la promotion d’un dialogue sur l’éthique lors d’évènements internationaux.

En liant recherche sur l’action humanitaire et sur l’action sociale, et en affirmant la continuité entre les problématiques locales et internationales, la Fondation Croix-Rouge fait la synthèse de deux approches complémentaires. En cela, nous préparons l’avenir tout en nous inscrivant résolument dans l’héritage et les principes du Mouvement International de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge.