SUAREZ HERRERA José Carlos Spain Medical anthropology
The project

Network governance - Social responsibility of enterprises - Social economy

In West Africa countries, the field of Humanitarian Action manages countless networks of collective action mobilizing numerous organizations which are representative of quite different areas of intervention (health, education, food security, children…). Humanitarian organizations structure multiple networks of actors that could facilitate the emergence of new forms of governance. These actors come both from the public sphere, the private sector and civil society and they work at all levels of decision.

By their intersectoral nature, these networks of humanitarian actors represent complex spaces whose operationalization feeds a whole universe of potentially conflicting, even divergent practices. These clashing practices become real organizational challenges that researchers, policy-makers and professionals of International Cooperation should better understanding to improve the quality of humanitarian interventions. Adopting a collaborative approach and partnership between France and Senegal, this research examines the strategic dynamics and normative devices structuring the complex field of Humanitarian Action.

The aim is therefore to understand how, considering the mutation of the humanitarian field, the emergence of new forms of governance is structured in a complex context of social and organizational transition. The search results show us three emerging themes that could become key concepts for the new Humanitarian Action: the network configuration of the governance of humanitarian interventions; the prominence of civil society in humanitarian issues; and the social responsibility of enterprises and humanitarian organizations.

Publications
Les Papiers de la Fondation

N°5 – February 2016

SUAREZ HERRERA José Carlos Espagne Sociologie
Le projet de recherche

Gouvernance en réseau - Responsabilité sociale des entreprises - Economie sociale et solidaire

Dans les pays de l’Afrique de l’Ouest, le champ de l’Action humanitaire articule de nombreux réseaux d’action collective qui mobilisent bon nombre d’organisations représentant des secteurs d’intervention fort différents (santé, éducation, sécurité alimentaire, enfance…). Les organisations humanitaires articulent des réseaux d’acteurs multiples qui pourraient faciliter l’émergence de nouvelles modalités de gouvernance. Ces acteurs proviennent tant de la sphère publique que du secteur privé et de la société civile et se trouvent à tous les échelons de décision.

De par leur nature intersectorielle, ces réseaux d’acteurs humanitaires représentent des espaces complexes dont le fonctionnement se nourrit de tout un univers de pratiques potentiellement contradictoires, voire divergentes. Cette disparité de pratiques constitue de véritables enjeux organisationnels que les chercheurs, les décideurs politiques ainsi que les professionnels de la coopération internationale devraient mieux comprendre pour améliorer la qualité des interventions humanitaires. Adoptant une démarche collaborative et partenariale entre la France et le Sénégal, cette recherche examine les dynamiques stratégiques et les dispositifs normatifs structurant les interventions du champ complexe de l’Action humanitaire.

L’objectif est alors de comprendre comment, à l’occasion des processus de mutation de l’humanitaire, se configure l’émergence de nouvelles formes de gouvernance dans un contexte complexe de transition sociale et organisationnelle. Les résultats de la recherche nous montrent trois thèmes émergents qui pourraient se constituer comme des piliers conceptuels pour la nouvelle Action humanitaire : la configuration en réseau de la gouvernance des interventions humanitaires, la proéminence de la société civile dans les enjeux humanitaires et la responsabilité sociale des entreprises et organisations humanitaires.

Publications
Les Papiers de la Fondation

N°5 – Février 2016